Today was one of those defining moments in my Recruiting life. Well, actually, it was a defining moment in my entire life. It was the first time that I had actually used an incorrect email address when trying to contact someone via email.

You have to understand – my husband and I own thetierneys.com, and we have, over the years, received lots and lots of emails that should have been directed to thetierneys.net, or thetierneys.org, or some other derivative of thetierneys. This is where karma comes into play – I had been very good about responding to incorrect emails, letting the people know that they had mis-sent, and that they should check with their intended recipient to get the correct email address. We’ve even gone so far as to write to the intended recipients at their correct email address and urge them to change their email subscriptions (yes, they subscribed to a listserv and used the wrong email domain!). So, we’ve always tried to be nice.

And this is where karma kicks in. I was searching the internet and found a potential candidate for a position in New York. He had a website, and had his email address listed. For some reason, I decided to type the address into the email message by hand, rather than copy it. And I typed it wrong. I used a .com instead of a .net. Oops.

I got a very kind email back from the unintended recipient, and when I wrote back thanking him for the information, he informed me that it wasn’t the first time it had happened. The person I incorrectly contacted apparently gets that a lot. I’ve obviously changed some names in here to protect everyone’s privacy…

No problem at all, Katie-it’s good for a laugh, and I always welcome new fans, whoever and wherever they are and whatever the reason….

And, if it makes you feel any better, you aren’t the first person to confuse me with another Paul; there’s a famous jazz musician by that name whose fan mail I sometimes receive:

From: misguided jazz fan
Sent: Saturday, February 10, 2007 4:40 AM
To: my unintended recipient
Subject: massage

Respected Mr.JazzMusician Hello

How are you.

I feel very shame when you came many time here in india.to make second albom and maharishi mahaeshyogi but never try to meet me i my self jazz fan to start your album life and you rise with your first album which you made i think in side the tajmahal agra why over look me because you say here in tajmahal i give you world tickets toor but you never try to meet me you know i have your first album also here form last 25 years i live at near tajmahal but you say about this matter to a NRI indian see live in U.S.A. She is Daughter of Mr. Another Person who is an indian officer but she said office to office but never try heartly and never meet me my home to min walking Distance form Tajmahal Gate i have my rep. in U.S.A and U.K .I Setaisfied with my Discussion please try to talk me on the phone or give me massage on E-mail.ID Thinking You

Jazz Fan

Tajmahal Agra

The unintended recipient was such a great sport about the whole thing. He’s an actor, voice-over artist, and public speaking coach, so I’m giving him some link-love here since he was so nice to me.

Have a great weekend. I am looking forward to some Texas-style weather up here in Minneapolis, with heat indexes over 100.

-Katie

