I think my friends are getting sick of listening to me. Well, they’ve probably always been a little tired of listening to me talk since a) I like to hear myself talk, so I can talk about nonsense for hours and b) my voice sounds like a cross between a tortured hyena and a wounded elephant. But, that aside, I think that my friends are very tired of hearing me talk about how much I love my job. I look forward to my “office days,” when I get to sit at the desk, research, call, write, and generally do whatever recruiting-related tasks need doing. I guess I come across as though I am bragging – nanny, nanny, boo-boo! I have a cool job, and youuuuu doooon’t!

I’ve come to realize, though, that a lot of people aren’t as lucky as I am. A lot of people don’t particularly like their jobs, but don’t have the “get up and go” to, well, “get up and go” elsewhere. I was talking to a candidate today who told me about a past company for which he’d worked, and he pointed out that a lot of his former colleagues are still there, even though they’re miserable, because they can’t get the inertia to look elsewhere. It may not be comfortable for them, but at least they consider it safe. These are the folks who struggle in to work every morning, bang at the keyboard for 8 hours, sigh, and head home, just to do the same thing tomorrow. They’re not excited about their job, their employers don’t respect or value them, and they are literally wasting away in the land of career despair.

Serendipitously (my new favorite word for the week), I happened upon a link to this post, which details some of the signs that you might be ready for a career change. And, upon further Googling, I came across a (very old) post by Suze Orman on Yahoo! Finance that also lists some signs (she only lists 5 – Orman must be an underachiever) that a career change is a good idea.

I have one sign that I want to add to these two lists:

It’s time to look for a new career path when you’re jealous of your friends’ jobs. As soon as you look at Betty Lou and think to yourself “She is so lucky to own her own hair and nail salon – I am so jealous,” then it’s time to consider whether or not you, yourself, should be the owner of a hair and nail salon. Well, maybe that’s extreme, but it should at least make you think about whether or not what you’re doing with your career is truly making you happy. If you are a Java developer at an Investment Bank, for example, and you see all the really hip guys from the new consulting startup down the street doing the cool things you want to do, it’s time to consider a new opportunity.

For me, I found these tips interesting from a different perspective – the “recruiter perspective.” These tips help me come up with some ways to identify passive candidates who really aren’t as passive as they would believe. If I can identify any of the signs in my friends’ behaviors, I know that it might be a good time to discuss opportunities with BSG.

In the end, a bit in Orman’s post really summed it up for me:

You deserve to enjoy your job, to feel appreciated and challenged by it, and to be fairly compensated for your work. If that’s not how things are playing out at the moment, it’s time to take responsibility for your future.

Have a great weekend. Get out and enjoy your life. And if you’re not enjoying your job, take the first steps toward making a change.

-Katie

